Vacation day… something

Featured photo: an outdoor outhouse

It’s Wednesday morning. We’re in Utah and I’m planning on being back in Michigan Saturday. But first one night in Rocky Mountain park. Then somewhere in Nebraska probably and a night at my friends house in Illinois.  

Last I mentioned we were in Denver for Avett brothers concerts at Red Rocks. That was pretty amazing. Since then we camped in a campsite in the valley of mountains. We hit the continental divide at 11,500 ft elevation, we made it to Arches National Park, explored a bit and now we’re on the Canyonlands Nat Park land just not in the park. 

This campsite is on top of a mountain, and with a tiny dirt road that runs along the cliff. There are fire rings and picnic tables but it’s rustic other than that. The outhouse is a pit toilet with no doors or roof. Just kind of a fence around it. When we first arrived it came with its own lizard. We’re not in Kansas anymore Dorthy. 

This trip has been awesome. I’ve seen so many mountains, desert landscapes, we drove through sleet in Wyoming, touched snow in Yellowstone and ranged in temps from 50-96. 

Can’t wait to see Rocky Mountain Park next, then in a few days I get to wash my clothes, take showers daily again, try a balanced diet and hit the gym. This has to be my wake up call. I’ve got pictures of me and I don’t like what I see. I think I’m 100 lbs lighter than what I am. It’s not preventing me from enjoying this trip but I’m going to work on getting to a healthier me again. That will be good. 

Leave a Reply

