Sunday is for the lazy

Day 3. I woke up around 10 am. Sometime around noon I hauled the broken snowblower out of the shed and through the snow, closer to the deck. I believe the carburetor is the problem, and I have a replacement kit, but I can’t get access. I have a firm belief that a hammer can fix most things, but I still couldn’t get the damn knob off the shifter. I also realized I missed one bolt on the cover – and without a 10 mm crescent wrench – the snowblower is left to sit in the snow, broken for the 2nd year in a row.

I was about to call a friend when I realized how disgusting my house was. Dirty clothes, dirty dishes, just overall disarray. I know the issue, I have depression and I bet a touch of ADD and hoarders complex. Admitting it is the first step to any solution right?
When I realized I’d be too embarrassed to have my friend come in my house, I knew I had to ditch the snowblower project, again, and start cleaning the house.

I started by making my bed. This included dumping all the clean clothes I had dumped there last week onto the floor since I wasn’t sure what was clean or dirty. Then I had to do loads of laundry, which brought me into the bathroom. Here I started organizing the cabinets above the washer and I found 4 empty soap dispensers. I realized I had kept them to use them to refill foaming soap with water and body wash. Whalla, cheap foaming hand soap! The problem is I still have over 20 hand soap pumps full because I went insane buying them during a sale 2 years ago.  See what I mean about being a hoarder? Thankfully I threw all the empty ones away.

From the cabinets I went to under the sink to look for a sponge, instead I organized quickly to find I had over 160 panty liners, multiple boxes of tampons, and more toothpaste and deodorant, shampoo than I ever thought I owned. Mental note: Stop buying things when they are on sale.

From there I bleached down the toilet, scrubbing bubbled the shower, added dishes to the dishwasher and finally went back to make my bed. 5 loads of laundry later I have a made bed but piles of clean laundry on it waiting to be folded. See the ADD pattern – I never quite make it through one task before starting another. This throughout the day leads to nothing seeming to be completed. Everything only half done.

Though I may not have fixed my snowblower, I do have a clean toilet, clean wrinkled clothes, I reattached my closet door that had fallen off last week, and I finally brought in the outdoor christmas decorations that had been sitting by the front door for a few weeks, though they are only sitting in a box on my coffee table… but baby steps, right? I still spent most of the day watching TV. Can you tell what a mess my personal life is yet?

Day 3 of being 37. No exercise. Limited access to the outdoors. No human contact. But clean laundry and a made bed. Better than nothing.

 

 

Leave a Reply

